Taughannock District
Baden-Powell Council, BSA
District Scrapbook


This, our current District Scrapbook page, covers district events in 2017 or later.

We also  have Scrapbook Pages for 2009 and earlier2010-2012, 2013-2014 and 2015-2016.

Taughannock District Awards Dinner
April 28, 2017

The Taughannock District held its annual Awards Dinner on April 28th at the Dryden Fire Hall. "Thanks" to Kathlene Gross for organizing the event, Michael Homrighaus for acting as MC and preparing the awards, and to everyone else who worked to make the dinner a success - and "Congratulations" to everyone who received an award! The District Award of Merit, the highest award a District can give, was presented to Nelson Jeffrey. Some of the other awards, official and otherwise, can be seen in the photographs.

The Order of the Black Duck - all named "Mike". From left to right, Mike Jane Converse, Mike Leroy Schultz, Mike Clay Converse, Mike Dave Gross, Mike Kathlene Gross, Mike Ben Brown, Mike Hughes, Mike Brown, Mike Stoll, Michael Homrighaus, and Mike Jim Graney.

The dinner opened with the traditional flag ceremony, and the Scout Oath and Law

Fifty-year Veteran awards were presented to Mike Stoll and Leroy Schultz

Liam Murphy presenting a "76er Patrol:" award to Chris Ryan. The annual 76er Patrol is made up of outstanding youth members.

Toby Green into is welcomed into the 76er Patrol for 2017

Peter Graney, new member of the 2017 76er Patrol

Kathlene Gross presented Camp Barton Ranger Dave Carlson with framed photographs of sunrise and sunset at Camp Barton.

Mike Hughes presents an Order of the Black Duck to District Chair Liam Murphy

Four Mikes - a quorum.

Present District Chair Liam Murphy presented a special certificate to Jim Graney for his efforts as District Chair in past years

District Chair Liam Murphy presented Mike Hughes with a certificate recognizing his work as past District Chair (twice)

The District Good Turn Award was presented to Transonic Systems for hosting our Scouts at the two District Fly-o-Rees held at the Ithaca Airport. Cor Drost accepts the certificate for Transonic.

This year's Patriot Patrol, named after Daniel Tompkins with Clay Converse, Mac Lynn Green, Kathlene Gross and Michael Homrighaus.

Mike Hughes presenting the Order of the Gorget to Callie Kaplan-Wright

Mike Stoll also received the Order of the Gorget

Those who have helped the district in the past year, but haven't yet received any district awards, are given the "Rising Star" certificate. This is Shana Kleckner Snyder from Pack 10, Groton

District Commissioner Mike Brown with Kate MacKenzie and her Rising Star award

Bill Wright was inducted as a member of the Old Guard

Another Rising Star award, presented by District Chair Liam Murphy with Michael Homrighaus and District Commissioner Mike Brown

Training awards were presented to a number of adult leaders by District Training Chair (and dinner MC) Mike Homrighaus

The prized Spark Plug Award - a real spark plug mounted on a block of wood - is awarded by individual units to people who have helped make the unit go during the year.

A special Golden Spark Plug was also awarded to two volunteers. Unlike a regular Spark Plug, the Golden Spark Plug is covered in gold paint, which makes it much more... something.

The Founders Award for 2017 was presented to Robin Stedinger and Jerry Stedinger

Doug Blakeley presenting the District Award of Merit to Nelson Jeffrey

Sea Scout Ship 25's newest Quartermaster
Callie Kaplan Wright
March 11, 2017

Congratulations to Callie Kaplan-Wright, from Sea Scout Ship 25, in earning Quartermaster - Sea Scouting's highest rank, and one earned by very few Sea Scouts nationwide. The ceremony was held at the Trumansburg Conservatory on Saturday, March 11th. A Land Ship was set up, and the ceremony took place on its deck.

Callie and the Quartermaster certificate.

Commodore Jim Graney congratulates Callie on her new Quartermaster rank.

S.S.S. Spear's Skipper, Ed Plesnar.

Commodore Jim Graney congratulates Callie on her new Quartermaster rank.

Callie's father, Bill Wright, says a few words...

Gene Little from the Coast Guard Auxiliary presents a letter to Callie at the QM ceremony.

Commodore Jim Graney boards the Land Ship, with four ceremonial Side Boys.

Evan Graney explains the meaning of the Quartermaster rank.

Commodore (and former District Chair) Jim Graney conducted the QM ceremony.

Sea Scout pipes dignitaries on board the Land Ship.

The meeting opened with a flag ceremony, as the flag was raised on the stern of the Land Ship.

S.S.S. Spear's Skipper, Ed Plesnar.

Council Recognition Dinner
February 25, 2017

Congratulations to the 2016 class of Silver Beaver recipients, along with all the other volunteers who received awards at the Baden-Powell Council Recognition Dinner on Saturday, February 25th. The Silver Beaver award is the highest award granted by a Council to an outstanding Scouter. This year's recipients were Michael Hughes, Fran Bialy, Eileen Mulcahy and Chris Wilkinson. Peter Graney, Alex Powers, Kevin Thompson and Andrew Thompson received the Venturing Leadership Award. The Baden-Powell Council, and the Taughannock and Chenango Districts received Gold status in the 2016 Journey to Excellence (Hiawatha was Silver and Delahanna was Bronze).

Cubs from Pack 155 opened the dinner with a flag ceremony

Council Commissioner Don Perkins

Council VP for Properties Mike Kazarinoff

Council President Kevin McKeown

Council Executive Rick Christ

Council VP for Program Mary Ann Wilcox

Council VP for Outdoor Adventure Bernie McDermott

Peter Graney and Alex Powers received the Venturing Leadership Award, as did Andrew and Kevin Thompson

Silver Beaver Chris Wilkinson

Silver Beaver Eileen Mulcahy and Silver Buffalo Mark Kreibel

Silver Beaver Fran Bialy

Silver Beaver Mike Hughes, Taughnnock District Vice-Chair

Cub Associate Stacy Hall

Commissioners and leaders from the Taughannock District 

Everyone loves patches...

Visit the Taughannock District Virtual Patch Collection!

Taughannock District Scouts Explored the South Seas
Winter Camporee - January 21, 2017

See more pictures on the Winter Camporee 2017 page!

Unseen for half a century...

Look at some recently discovered pictures from the 1960 Cortland Armory Scout Show and the 1961 Barton Hall Scout-a-Rama. 

Want to see more District activities? We have a Scrapbook Page for 2010-2012 and a Scrapbook Page for 2009 and earlier, too!

Copyright 2010-2017 Taughannock District BSA